Harmonizing The Energy Body – Chakra Anatomy – Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra – Svadhisthanaxsacral-chakra-jpg-pagespeed-ic-wdgmuleusf

2nd Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is your passion and pleasure centre and it is located in the pelvic area. While the Root Chakra is satisfied with survival, the 2nd chakra seeks pleasure and enjoyment. The gift of this chakra is experiencing our lives through feelings and sensations.

The second chakra is the centre of feeling, emotion, pleasure, sensuality, intimacy, and connection. The energy of this chakra allows you to let go, to move, and to feel change and transformation occurring within your body. It allows you to experience this moment as it is, in its own fullness.

The main challenge for the second chakra is the conditioning of our society. We live in a society where feelings are not valued, where passion, and emotional reactions are being frowned upon. We are being taught not to “loose control”. And we get disconnected from our bodies, our feelings.

As if this was not enough, we also experience the wounds of our collective cultural struggles over many sexual issues of our society. On one hand sexuality is magnified and glorified, and on the other hand it is rejected. This results in either blocked or excessive second chakra issues.

No wonder we have so many issues with our passion centre, the wellspring of feelings, enjoyment, and sensuality.

Do you love your body? Do you enjoy feeling your body? When was the last time you walked barefoot on the grass and felt the sensation of ground underneath your feet?

The sacral chakra is also your center of creativity. Passion is the fuel of creative energy. Everything you create, a poem, a drawing, or a website, originates from the energy of second chakra. It is also where your fertility originates. After all, conceiving a child is a creative process.

A person with an open Svadhisthana Chakra is passionate, present in her body, sensual, creative, and connected to her feeling.

Sacral Chakra Affirmations

I choose to love and enjoy my body.

I choose to have healthy boundaries.

I choose to be open to experiencing the present moment through my senses and intuition.

I choose to be passionate.

I choose to feel pleasure and abundance with every breath I take.

I choose to nourish my body with healthy food and clean water.

I choose to know how to take care of my needs.

I choose to value and respect my body.

I choose to be open to touch and closeness.

I choose to allow myself to experience pleasure.

I choose to know my sexuality is sacred.

I choose to see emotions as a doorway to my Soul.

I choose to take good care of my physical body.

I choose to be at peace.


Sacral Chakra at a glance:

Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana (sweetness)

Element: Water

Color: Orange

Shape: Circle with crescent

Petals of the lotus: Six

Seed sound: VANG

Vowel sound: Oo

Rights: To feel, to want

Endocrine gland: Ovaries, testicles

Physical association: Womb, genitals, kidney, bladder

Psychological function: Movement and connection

Identity: Emotional

Developmental stage: 6 months – 2 years

Challenge: Guilt

Plane: Astral plane

Planets: Mercury, Jupiter, Moon

Deity: Indra, Rakini, Vishnu

Mythological Animal:

Incense: Gardenia, damiana

Herb: Fennel, corriander

Sephira: Yesod

Sacral chakra essential oils can be used for balancing and geting in touch with your emotions.
Located at the pelvic area, the sacral chakra is associated with pleasure, creativity, sensuality, and emotions.

On the physical level, the sacral chakra is associated with reproductive organs, kidneys, and bladder.

On the emotional level, sacral chakra imbalance may manifest as rapid emotional changes, obsessive thinking, and emotional confusion.

On the mental level, someone with a sacral chakra imbalance may experience rigidity, creative blocks, and difficulty with relating to others.

On the spiritual level, sacral chakra issues may show up as fragmentation, dissociation, and deadened feelings.

Essential oils embody the frequencies and healing properties of plants. Not only they deliver certain properties to the physical body, they also work on the mental, emotional and spiritual levels.

The following are the most commonly used sacral chakra essential oils:


Sandalwood is considered a sacred oil and on a spiritual level, it helps to reunite the spirit with the senses. This soft, woody, and earthy oil is sensual, yet deeply tranquil. Sandalwood is associated with the Empress, one of the Tarot symbols, which symbolizes the universal mother womb, where all gestation begins. On a physical level of the second chakra, this oil may help easy menstrual problems.

Ylang Ylang

This sweet and tropical oil is known for its aphrodisiac qualities. It stimulates sexual energy and enhances relationships. It is both a stimulating and calming essential oil which reunites emotional aspects and sensual aspects of our being. The oil also has a calming action on the heart, brings back feelings of self-love, confidence, and joy in simple pleasures.

Clary Sage

This warm, musky, and slightly spicy oil has been used during the Middle Ages for female complaints and kidney disorders. Clary Sage is both strenghtening and relaxing. Known for its emotionally uplifting effect, this oil can bring on euphoria. As the name implies, Clary Sage promotes clarity and is especially useful during times of emotional confusion.


Warm, with an exquisite floral scent and comforting sweetness, Jasmine has been known for its aphrodisiac qualities. Jasmine harmonizes sensual and emotional aspects of our being. It helps to reawaken passion and restore capacity for creativity. On the physical level, Jasmine has been used during labour, easing painful and prolonged deliveries. The emotional effects of Jasmine are profound as it opens the deepest layers of the soul, allowing us to get in touch with our emotions.


Orange is frequently thought of as and oil of abundance. Allowing one to open the sensual part of the being and accept all the simple gifts of life. Orange oil symbolizes innocence and fertility. Due to its liver stimulating properties, this uplifting oil has also the ability to free up stagnant life energy. Orange oil can bring emotional ease, optimism, creativity, and adaptability.


This sweet, lively, and citrusy oil will enliven your senses and encourage the release of repressed emotions. Bergamot is uplifting as well as gently relaxing. It helps to disperse stangant energy, releasing stress and tension.


This sweet, woody, floral oil is known for its aphrodisiac qualities as well as for promoting hormone secretion. On an emotional level Rosewood relaxes the body, calms the mind and relieves stress, allowing one to be in touch with their emotions and senses.


Neroli, also called Orange Blossom, with its sweet, delicate, citrusy aroma, has powerful emotional effects. It calms and relaxes the body and spirit. Its frequency vibrates at the second chakra and encourages sensuality, peace, courage, and joy. A natural tranquilizer, Neroli is often used for anxiety and shock from trauma.

Thank You Chakra Anatomy & Human Energy Flow

Scroll to Top